14th Annual Homelessness Marathon!



Homelessness Marathon poster draft 3

CIVL is excited to help bring you the National Campus and Community Radio Association’s 14th Annual Homelessness Marathon!

Inspired by the same event begun in New York City in 1997 (based in Washington, DC this year), CKUT-FM at McGill in Montreal hosted the marathon for 11 years before CjSR Edmonton at the University of Alberta, CFRC Kingston at Queens University, and now CIVL from UFV in Abbotsford, all stepped up to pitch in and do the heavy lifting new balance shoe deals. CKUT staff and volunteers still dedicate valuable resources by both assisting in the coordination of the broadcast and contributing content of their own, as well as engage their local community to get involved!

This year’s broadcast will last 14 hours, starting on Tuesday, February 23rd at 2 pm (PST)​, and lasting until Wendesday, February 24th at 4 am (PST)​. Regular CIVL programming will be pre-empted for the entirety of the broadcast, airing instead public forums, pre-recorded stories, and other content provided by each of the stations mentioned above, as well as CJSF Burnaby from SFU​, CiTR at UBC​, CFRU at the U of Guelph​, CHRW from Western​in London, ON, and CKDU at Dalhousie ​in Halifax.

We want to encourage you to call in live throughout the broadcast toll free from anywhere in the country, and someone at the CIVL studios will be there to take your calls, record your feedback, and play them during the broadcast, as well as send them on to broadcasting stations Original New Balance 751. Some stations will even be able to converse with you live during their timeslot!

1-888-504-7441 x 6307

Also feel free to email marathon@civl.ca for general questions related to the broadcast!

This year’s schedule is tentatively scheduled to look like so:

Time (PST):     Station:                    Format

2:00 PM

CIVL

The Abbotsford Shuffle

2:30 PM – 4:00 PM

CFRC (Kingston, ON)

www.cfrc.ca
613-533-2372

Live Open Mic @ Martha’s Table

5:30-7 PM EST

4:00 PM – 6:00 PM

CKUT (Montreal, QC)

www.ckut.ca/fr

514.448.4013

(Hosted Live by Native Solidarity News 7-7:30 PM EST and Nipivut 7-9 PM EST)

6:00 PM – 7:00 PM

CJSF (Burnaby, BC)

www.cjsf.ca

Live 604-999-3103

7:00 PM – 7:30 PM

CFRU (Guelph, ON)

www.cfru.ca

Live (10-10:30 PM EST)

519-837-2378

7:30 PM – 8:30 PM

CFCR Saskatoon, SK

www.cfcr.ca

 Pre-rec (9:30-10:30 pm CST)

9:00 PM – 10:30 PM

CiTR (Vancouver, BC)

www.citr.ca

Live 604-822-2487

10:30 PM – Midnight PST

CJSR (Edmonton, AB)

www.cjsr.com

Live (11:30 pm – 1 AM MST)

780-492-CJSR ext. 1

12 AM – 1:00 AM

CIVL

Taking Live/Airing Pre-recorded Calls 3:00 AM – 4 AM EST

1:00 AM – 1:30 AM

CFRC

Pre-Recorded (if needed)

1:30 AM – 3 AM

CHRW (London, ON)

www.chrwradio.ca

Live (4:30 – 6 AM EST)

3:00 AM -4 AM

CKDU (Halifax, NS)

www.ckdu.ca

Pre-Rec (7 AM – 8 AM AST)

4:00 AM – 4:30 AM

CIVL/Closing

Live